Dear bhai…. 

Dear bhai,

I know you are in that big city, where all the people are tall and pretty,

where the roads are endless,  where the tall  buildings seem to touch the sky unlike our small village with forests near by, 

I just wanted to ask, that could I  visit too ? 

books that you read and broken pencils of yours and the empty room of yours,they make me cry bhai, I hug your old t-shirt and wipe my tears, 
in this house so big where I and nana live, I feel alone like a  ghost, 

I draw, do chores, and revise those small alphabets and words you taught me then, and now I have learnt to write letters holding those broken pens, 

I wonder some days are you playing hide and seek? To seek you,  I open all those empty cupboards and look behind the door, but to my surprise now that big arms don’t come and hug me from behind, and like always where were you hidden ,I couldn’t  find. 

And the hallucination breakes, and I think of you and remembering all those memories was all my mistake,

 I look at that white sky and imagine how big would be infinity, 
I stare at these empty roads

I wander in my dreams, I wake up in middle of the night with screams, 

through the little window I measure the sky,

I wonder why you  all have locked me inside?

Why didn’t you let me go to places I always wanted to go and why didn’t you take me along with you? 

atleast you could send me to that school nearby,

I compare myself not to humans but to those birds who fly freely in the sky, 

nana said that girls are like precious gems, so we keep them  safe in the treasure,

but without you I feel like a stone fallen on road  which is kicked again and again  ,but still not broken 

my eyes  flood tears and a day seems to be like thousand years,

alone one desire I hold to go to school like others,

I hope one day you come and take me to that paradise of yours and not much I ask but please  reply to  this letter of mine, 

your memories have started hurting, I wonder why don’t you miss me?

Have you found another sweet sister like me? Do you also hug her when you come back home? But you said you loved me more than anyone, not full but a little bit of love could you give me too? 

every night nana says  you’ll never come and you’ll never reply, but this time too my hope did not die,

and not much I ask but please reply to  this letter  and remind me that I have the world’s best brother. 


❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤


Hey! How are you wonderful people? 

 🍁And for those of you who don’t understand hindi- bhai means brother and nana means grandfather.

I would love to know your thoughts on this post so please comment!😊 


100 Replies to “Dear bhai…. ”

  1. Your brother is fortunate ❤
    Go give him a surprise visit…
    On a serious note,
    One think I have learned is that… Letters are way more expressive than any other form of either writing or speaking…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately I don’t have a big brother, though I have a small one. And yeah someday surprise visit idea is relevant in many relationships. Truly! And thank you so much😇

      Like

  2. The thread of hope that joins the sister with her brother in this letter is so thin, yet so strong. You wrote it beautifully, Shivee.. Truly, the last line literally reached the heart. 🙂
    Hello, now comes my chatty comment! lol
    Long time no see! It’s really been a while. Finally, my reader showed up your posts and I hopped here like a bunny! How are you, little sister? Not so lil, though since I am lil too! lol

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m super awesome! Though there are still few days left. You know I am going to a new school, it will be my first day at a new school on 3rd july. I can’t keep my excitement to myself!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to understand so much approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you just could do with some percent to force the message home a bit, however other than that, that is magnificent blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No maza ya bhai, from 8 o clock I m studying😣, this week periodic exams are going so studying😯😢, sunday ruined ,but I think chocolate ice cream will fix this,anyway Enjoy!👍😘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Gotta cram then! I too am going on ya, I get distracted a billion times and ab toh padhna padhega ughhh!😢😯😯😯Anyway can’t help it continue cramming….😶😶😶

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haahaha! I m just much more productive at night than day, I m almost done like just that period when you are so desperate to get rid of the book jump into bed, on the tv, on the AC, get into blanket nd watch Tv. Ughh, you know what my parents and bro are out for party and I m home alone😁duhh random fears what if I see a ghost?😂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw. Thank you so much! And yeah I know its kind of unfair , but all I can say is welcome to my WP family😊 and yeah can I call you bhaiya or bhai coz I m really young, like 14😊You know they say whole world is a family👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey !! That is so nice of you!! Why not Shivee!! You have melted down me to core again, I would love to be your “Bhaiya” because that sounds much closer to heart! And I am amazed, you are so young and blessed with such amazing writing skills.

        Like

  4. Absolutely loved it. Somewhere in the middle, it reminded me of ‘The Postmaster’ by Rabindranath Tagore. Also your picture, it’s intriguing! 👌👍 keep writing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful, emotive poetry. You have really captured what it feels like to yearn for a missing loved one and to feel left behind.

    PS Tradition has kept girls protected like gems but girls want to fly high and free; perhaps we could keep our feet on the ground and our heads in the clouds.

    Like

  6. Ahh! man such a lovely relationship, I to have a sister, we too love each other but also fights a lot, more than a lot. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Love to read more of your articles. Keep the love flowing. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

